Boxing Day

A day that we’ve been waiting for all year round, to be honest, I hardly shop whenever I’m in Australia, and that is definitely not an understatement that’s coming from me. Reason being that I believe everything is overpriced here for some reasons. But then again, I expected myself to go crazy beforehand considering that boxing day sales has to be the craziest all year round, and with stories from everyone on how there is a queue starting from early wee hours of the morning, it would be sensible to think that there has to be a lot of great bargains isn’t it?

Thankfully we’re staying right smack in the middle of the city so it would only take a few minutes of walk to the city centre! Ahhh, the perks of staying in the city.

It wasn’t long till we walked most of the main CBD areas as we didn’t manage to get anything much unfortunately. It was rather depressing as I really wanted to shop so badly, especially when I’m deprived of good shopping boutiques in Perth for almost a year. The sale in Zara was mildly disappointing though I did manage to get a small item from them. Oh well, at least Joanne got herself a pretty floral blazer which can be seen in one of the upcoming posts! :mrgreen:

Armed with a strong determination to get ourselves something, we refilled our tummies for any ounce of energy needed at Cafe De Vin. We roamed into Bourke street, a cafe strip filled with many gastronomical types of food but we settled for an Italian in the end, because we were too distracted by a pink pasta which they served. Thoughhhhhh we were super excited with the pink pasta, we settled with the irresistible spinach and basil cream pasta, feta and walnut salad with honey and chilli mussels with seafood in the end.

At night, we joined Valerie and the other CBNers for dinner at Hofbrauhaus in Chinatown. I really liked how everything in Melbourne makes me feel like I’m roaming in the streets of London. From the mini ‘Oxford Street’ to China Town, the city just isn’t comparable to Perth! 😛

Lately, I’ve always been going for clean cut fits and lines for my clothing pieces and this blue top was just the perfect excuse for a night out! When I first laid my eyes on it, it reminded me of Jil Sander’s collection well known for her simplicity in designs. I’ve been contemplating for a long time on what else should I pair it with for that additional touch, and alas, I opted for a detachable applique collar and everything just falls into place. Since it was a mix a solid dark colours, I’ve decided to give my outfit a pop of colour by borrowing my mum’s neon ipad cover to be used as a clutch instead heh! 😈

And oohh! Speaking of the slight change in my style, have you noticed my bangs and a tinge of pink in my hair? I did it just in time for Melbourne and I’ve got to say that this is by far my favourite hairstyle of all times! :mrgreen:

I was wearing:
Topshop for Opening Ceremony Blue Top
Topshop Detachable Applique Collar
Zara Skinny Jeans
Marc by Marc Jacobs Ipad Cover

PS: Credits to Joanne for some of the photos above. Check her blog out for more eye-worthy pictures, this chicka of mine is a talent to be watched out for!

bloglovin

Leave a comment